Sábado, 28 de Julho de 2007

Socotra está na nomeação para as 7 maravilhas da natureza

A ilha de Socotra pode estar entre as próximas maravilhas da natureza, afirmou o Ministro do turismo Nabil Al-Fahiq do Yemen esta semana.
Socotra fora registada na lista de nomeações para as novas sete maravilhas da natureza. O yemen faz disto assim uma grande aposta para o desenvolvimento do turismo no seu país. O ministro tem quase a certeza de que a ilha será nomeada. Dentro de momentos postarei umas imagens, pois a ilha é no mínimo BELA.

Veja a notícia completa:

Yemen’s Socotra Island ought to be among the new seven natural wonders of the world, said Minister of Tourism Nabil al-Faqih this week. Socotra has been registered in the list of nominees for the New Seven Wonders of Nature. The New Seven Wonders of Nature is a proposed revision of the Seven Wonders of the World, organized by a Swiss-based, for-profit corporation called New Open World Corporation. The same organization just created a new list of man-made wonders.

Yemen hopes to rally support for Socotra’s inclusion in the new list. The island of Socotra has been declared to be among the best natural tourist sites in the world, said al-Faqih. “The Ministry of Tourism has completed the island registration procedures. The registration site is ready and is waiting for the public to visit and start to vote in favor of the island,” he said. An unusual island sprawled in the Indian Ocean, at the entrance to the Gulf of Aden, Socotra is 3,625 square kilometers large. It lies about 220 miles from the coast of the Yemeni mainland, and has about 50,000 inhabitants, though no official census exists.  The name of the island is believed to come from Sanskrit dvipa sakhadara, which can be translated to “Island of Bliss.”

Socotra is part of an archipelago, but all the other islands are small. The largest of these are Abdul-Kuri and the al-Ikhwan Islands.  Socotra has been isolated biologically for several million years, and about a third of its plants are unique to the island.  Socotra has 24 endemic reptiles, six endemic types of birds, like the Socotra sparrow, and other creatures, such as centipedes, one sort of dragonfly, land crabs, and 25 types of jumping insects. Socotra has a number of distinct flora species, like myrrh, frankincense and the dragon’s blood tree. The selection process for the new seven natural wonders will be similar to the selection process for the man-made wonders just completed. The New Seven Wonders of the World were announced during the Official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal on Saturday, July 7, 2007. 

The 105-foot-tall (38-meter-tall) “Christ the Redeemer” statue in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, was among the New Seven Wonders of the World announced July 7, following a global poll to decide a new list of human-made marvels. The winners were voted for by Internet and phone, American Idol style. The other six new wonders are the Colosseum in Rome, India’s Taj Mahal, the Great Wall of China, Jordan’s ancient city of Petra, the Inca ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru, and the ancient Maya city of Chichén Itzá in Mexico. The first vote is free to registered members and additional votes may be purchased through a payment to NOWC.

In addition to the sale of votes, NOWC relies on private donations, the sale of merchandise such as shirts and cups, and revenue from selling broadcasting rights.   The NOWC organization is now working on the new event, the New Seven Wonders of Nature. Nominations will run through August 8, 2008. Then a panel of experts will create a list of 21 candidates from which voters worldwide will elect the seven wonders of nature.  Nominations must be for a clearly defined natural site or natural monument that was NOT created or significantly altered by humans. Physical or natural phenomena like the northern lights, the Gulf Stream or shooting stars are not eligible.

The nominees must be one of the following: a natural site, a natural monument, or a landscape.   Categories for the new contest include: Animal Reserve, Canyon, Fjord, Cave, Grotto, Coastline, Cliff, Forest, Woo, Geological site, Glacier, Mountain, Volcano, Rocks, Nature Conservancy Park, Oasis , Deserts, Prehistoric, natural site, Underwater World, Reef, Water, Sea, Lake, River, Waterfall, or other.   UNESCO has said that such contests are too subjective, and their results in no way can influence the current official list of the world cultural heritage sites.


publicado por mh às 14:15
link do post | favorito



Guardar Dados?

Ainda não tem um Blog no SAPO? Crie já um. É grátis.


Máximo de 4300 caracteres

Copiar caracteres


.Abril 2008


.posts recentes

. "Tubbataha Reef" - Rio Tu...

. Vietname e Bangladesh

. Rio Ganges

. Maravilhas da Natureza!!!...

. Phong Nha-Ke Bang

. Novidade na 4ªPosição

. Monte Fuji - Fuji Mount

. Cox's Bazar, Beach

. Ilhas selvagens. Uma obra...

. Top 5 Maravilhas : 11/02/...


. Abril 2008

. Fevereiro 2008

. Dezembro 2007

. Novembro 2007

. Outubro 2007

. Setembro 2007

. Agosto 2007

. Julho 2007


. 7 maravilhas

. amor

. apresentação

. arte

. blog

. blogs

. criação

. curiosidades

. downloads

. eu

. fotos

. humor

. ilha

. imagens

. interessante

. island

. maravilhas

. mundo

. natureza

. nomeação

. novidades

. planeta

. portugal

. sapo

. sexo

. sociedade

. socotra

. terra

. unnoficial

. vida

. vídeos

. todas as tags


.mais sobre mim

.subscrever feeds